Skip to content

Links

August 8, 2020

August is Women in Translation Month, but Russian literature bloggers started early.

7 Comments leave one →
  1. languagehat permalink
    August 8, 2020 7:44 am

    I’ve also posted about Alla Gorbunova, who was new to me and is well worth anyone’s while (she’s a poet who also writes excellent prose). Thanks for the useful roundup!

  2. elisabethm permalink
    August 8, 2020 11:00 am

    Yes, tons of credit to Lisa Hayden!

    • lizoksbookshelf permalink
      August 10, 2020 8:55 am

      I’m so glad you tweeted about that blog post, elisabethm, it was great to see some old favorites as well as a few unfamiliar titles. (It was also a good reminder that I’ve been meaning to buy Isolde!)

      • elisabethm permalink
        August 10, 2020 11:43 am

        It is a very inspiring and varied list! Incidentally I had already ordered two of the mentioned titles, Three apples fell from the sky and The Slynx. Hopefully they’ll arrive soon. And thank you for translating so many modern writers, if I had to read them in Russian it would take me a lot longer to read them!

      • lizoksbookshelf permalink
        August 10, 2020 4:29 pm

        I love translating contemporary authors, elisabethm, and am glad the translations help you get more reading in! I’ll be interested to hear what you think about Three Apples and The Slynx.

      • elisabethm permalink
        August 22, 2020 4:51 am

        Hey Lisa, I just finished reading Three Apples, and I’m still under its’ spell! It’s a lovely and enchanting tale. The scene with the shoes in the coffin was priceless! Elisabeth

  3. Yelena Furman permalink
    August 8, 2020 11:15 pm

    I’m so glad I now know about your blog, and thank you very much for linking to the Voznesenskaia piece.

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.