Skip to content

It Didn’t Come Off (38)

September 20, 2017

X

Gornov went away.

The breaking off of our engagement had caused a stir, and for a time I became the subject of drawing-room gossip and curiosity. Everyone drew their own conclusion from the dénouement of my love affair, but nobody guessed even an approximation of the truth. Mothers called me emancipated and were reluctant to allow their daughters to grow close to me. Everyone cast a stone at me, with the exception of the young generation, students and other advocates of the freedom of sentiment. Many of them idealized me and spoke with complete certainty about how I had refused an advantageous match in order to marry for love. As for myself, I felt that a great change had taken place within me. I became more serious, I came to love being alone and reading books. I wanted to grow until I reached Gornov’s level: but reading a book, or conversing with young people, at home, or in society, I was dogged by a secret sorrow.

And agonizing as it was, I did not want to part with it. I liked to dream about Gornov and often sat up in bed until dawn, remembering down to the smallest details the time when I had been engaged. The more my fiancé’s individual nature became clear to me, the more I was convinced that a chasm lay between him and Yelena. Their union seemed to me to be impossible. I waited impatiently for a letter from Ryazan that might vindicate my hopes, but now that she no longer needed me, Yelena considered it unnecessary to write to me. Her maid would answer my frequent questions — “Is there any letter?” — by saying there were letters, but none addressed to me.

At the end of the summer, Gornov wrote to Misha, who read me the lines that concerned me: “What is your sister up to? Is she in good spirits? Kiss her little hand for me.”


previous installment
next installment
“It Didn’t Come Off” is a translation of “Не сошлись” (1867) by Ol’ga N. (Sophie Engelhardt).


X.

Горнов уехал.

Наша размолвка наделала шума, и я стала на время предметом гостиных толков и любопытства. Каждый выводил свое заключение из развязки моего романа, но никто не догадался даже приблизительно об истине. Матери семейства называли меня эмансипированною и неохотно позволяли своим дочерям сближаться со мной. Все бросили в меня камень, за иcключением молодого пoколения, студентов и других заступников свободы чувства. Многие из них идеализировали меня и рассказывали с полною уверенностью, что я отказалась от выгодной партии, чтобы выйти замуж по cклонности. Что касается до меня, я чувствовала, что какой-то переворот совершился в моем характере. Я сделалась сериознее, полюбила уединение, книги. Мне хотелось дорасти до Горнова; но за книгой, в разговорах с молодежью, дома и в свете, меня преследовала тайная грусть.

И как она ни была мучительна, я бы не хотела с ней расстаться. Я любила мечтать о Горнове и часто сидела до рассвета на постели, вспоминая до малейших подробностей о том времени, когда я была невестой. Чем более разъяснялась для меня личность моего жениха, тем более я убеждалась, что между им и Еленой лежала бездна. Союз между ними казался мне невозможным. Я ждала с нетерпением письма из Рязани, которое подтвердило бы мои надежды, но Елена, не нуждаясь более во мне, нашла лишним ко мне писать. На мои частые вопросы «нет ли письма?» ее горничная отвечала, что письма есть, но не на мое имя.

В конце лета Горнов написал Мише, который мне прочел строки, относящиеся ко мне: «Чтó делает твоя сестра? Весела ли она? Счастлива ли? Поцелуй за меня ее маленькую ручку.»

One Comment leave one →
  1. September 22, 2017 9:03 am

    ahh, she did such a good job making me hate Gornov earlier that I can’t sympathize w him now.

Leave a Reply

