Skip to content

It Didn’t Come Off (7)

July 7, 2017

I don’t recall that we ever found very much to talk about, but he liked to listen silently and with a smile to my idle chatter, which he called a child’s babbling. He inspired so much trust in maman that she would at times go off to rest after lunch and leave me with Misha and him. When my companions would enter into conversation and arguments, I would grow deathly bored listening to propositions I did not understand a word of — here I would start to play the fool, to meow, to mimic Madame Petitpierre. Gornov would suddenly erupt into that loud laughter of his, take my hand and kiss it, but as carefully as if he were afraid of crushing it in his broad hand. This meditative love, which dared not speak itself aloud, whose existence I did not discern, failed to arouse the slightest response in my heart. Shall I tell the truth? I had an incomparably better time with a certain cavalry officer from Petersburg who courted me as a grown-up young woman.

I appreciated my fiancé for giving me candies and defending me when maman scolded me for a violation of social decorum. I had managed to notice that he was not particularly fond of maman, while, on the contrary, he was the apple of her eye.

“He’s a treasure, not a husband!” she said again and again. “As meek as a lamb. The only thing I’m afraid of is he’ll let Nastya have her way too much.”

And indeed I did not know anyone kinder, anyone more able to accommodate himself to other people’s personalities, and even to their caprices. He did not have any of his own. Until the age of twenty-five he had studied tirelessly, and he often spoke of his desire to find a useful occupation, but while waiting for this occupation he wanted to spend a few months with me on the banks of the Rhine after our marriage.


previous installment
next installment
“It Didn’t Come Off” is a translation of “Не сошлись” (1867) by Ol’ga N. (Sophie Engelhardt).


Я не помню, чтобы мы когда-нибудь разговорились, но он любил слушать молча и с улыбкой мою пустую болтовню, которую называл детским лепетом. Он внушал такое доверие maman, что она, бывало, отправится отдохнуть после обеда, а меня оставит с Мишей и с ним. Когда мои собеседники пуcкались в разговор и споры, мне становилось до смерти скучно слушать прения, в которых я не понимала ни слова, вот я, бывало, начну дурачиться, мяукать, передразнивать мадам Петипьер. Горнов вдруг разразится своим громким смехом, возьмет мою руку и пoцелует, но так осторожно, как будто бы боялся смять ее в своей широкой руке. Эта мечтательная любовь, которая не смела высказаться, которой я не угадывала, не вызывала ни малейшего отголocка в моем сердце. Сказать ли правду? Мне было несравненно веселей с одним петербургским конногвардейцем, который за мной ухаживал, как за взрослою девушкой.

Я дорожила моим женихом, за то что он меня лакомил конфетами и отстаивал, когда mаman меня бранила за отступление от светских приличий. Я успела заметить, что он недолюбливал maman, а она, напротив, души в нем не знала.

— Не муж, а клад! пoвторяла она. — Водой не замутит. Боюсь одного только: он даст Насте слишком много воли.

И то сказать, я не знавала человека добрее, более способного приноровиться к характеру других, даже к чужим прихотям. Своих за ним не водилось. До двадцати пяти лет он занимался без устали и часто говорил о желании найти полезную деятельность, но в ожидании этой деятельности ему хотелось провести после женитьбы неcколько месяцев со мной на берегах Рейна.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

