Skip to content

It Didn’t Come Off (5)

July 3, 2017

I still remember my first conversation with Gornov. He asked how I spent my time, what I read, what country life was like day to day. My answers revealed my lack of intellectual development, which he called naïveté. Naïveté and primitive, unspoiled natures were starting to come into fashion…

The next day he paid us a morning visit.

Gornov had been a student in Dorpat. After completing his studies, he had spent three years in Germany and came to Moscow to receive his inheritance after the death of his father. I did not like him. Neither his manners nor his appearance corresponded to the type of the medieval knight. He had, however, one undeniable charm: an experienced look would have discerned in him a great deal of calm, dormant strength. He was tall, solid, broad-shouldered. Two lines ran the length of his rather low, nearly flat forehead; his nose was thin, sharp, with wide-open nostrils, while the rather too long lower part of his face protruded a bit forward. His grayish, tired eyes often blinked: his nearsightedness exacerbated his congenital absent-mindedness, which, like a little girl, I found funny. He danced quietly and reluctantly and looked quite the phlegmatic man. He liked everything about me that might have made another man despair: my ignorance and undeveloped mind. He used to say that the very idea of evil ought not to touch me.

“And what is evil?” he asked me once, when I had used that word in some connection.

The question left me at a loss. Unaccustomed as I was to thinking, I could not give a simple explanation. Instead of answering, I blushed and said,

“I don’t know.”

Gornov laughed and looked at me with pleased affection.


previous installment
next installment
“It Didn’t Come Off” is a translation of “Не сошлись” (1867) by Ol’ga N. (Sophie Engelhardt).


Я еще помню мой первый разговор с Горновым. Он расспрашивал о моих занятиях, о чтении, о деревенском житье-бытье. Мои ответы обнаруживали крайнюю неразвитость, которую он называл наивностью. Наивность, первобытные природы начинали тогда входить в моду….

На другой день он явился к нам с утренним визитом.

Горнов был дерптский студент. Окончив курс, он провел три года в Германии и приехал в Москву для получения наследства после смерти отца. Он мне не понравился. Ни его приемы, ни наружность не соответствовали типу средневекового рыцаря. В нем была однако неоспоримая прелесть: опытный взгляд угадал бы в нем много спокойной, спящей силы. Он был высокого роста, плотен, широкоплеч. Две складки пересекали вдоль невысокий, почти плоский лоб; нос был тонкий, вострый, с ширoко открытыми ноздрями, а нижняя, слишком длинная часть лица выдавалась немного вперед. Он часто прищуривал свои сероватые и усталые глаза: близорукость усиливала врожденную его рассеянность, которою я забавлялась, как девочка. Танцевал он тихо и неохотно и смотрел флегматиком. Ему нравилось во мне все то, чтó другого могло бы привести в отчаянье: мое невежество и неразвитость. Он говорил, что даже понятие о зле не должно до меня касаться.

— А что такое зло? спросил он меня раз, когда я употребила к чему-то это слово.

Вопрос меня озадачил. С непривычки думать, я не умела дать простого объяснения. Вместо ответа, я покраснела и сказала:

— Не знаю.

Горнов засмеялся и посмотрел на меня с умилением.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

