Skip to content

Wrapping up “The Old Man”

July 22, 2016

I hope you enjoyed reading “The Old Man” half as much as I enjoyed translating it. I’ll post the author and a link to the original publication on Monday. Before I do, does anyone who hasn’t looked it up want to guess who the author is, or say anything about the story before you find out? This post is your chance to comment — pick any pseudonym you want if you want to guess without going on record.

Soon I’ll put up an e-book of the story in one piece. There are at least three places in the text I want to solicit your collective advice about first, though. One is a problem pointed out to me by Languagehat, with another I think I got something right but am not confident of my knowledge of contemporary realia, and in a third I came up with a solution I’m not sure I’m happy with. Posts on those to come soon.

There are no doubt other things I got wrong, and if you have noticed or do notice any, I’d be very glad if you’d point them out (don’t spare my feelings; I’d rather know!).

2 Comments leave one →
  1. July 22, 2016 3:32 pm

    It’s been fascinating! I looked up the author because I couldn’t stand not knowing, so I shan’t guess. And as a monolinguist I can’t offer anything on the translations except to say it read really well to me!

    • July 23, 2016 10:37 pm

      Thank you! If you didn’t think it was full of anachronisms or Americanisms or stylistic oddities, that’s helpful to know – I’m interested in comments from people who know either language or both.

Leave a Reply

