Skip to content

The Old Man (10)

June 3, 2016

I began to examine the magnificent eighteenth-century editions that made up the bulk of the library. There was not a single Russian book in it, except for Pushkin. I permitted myself to remark on this aloud. The old man waved this away and started speaking about our literature with insulting aloofness. He did like Pushkin, but saw in him nothing more than an imitator of Byron; he knew nothing at all about current writers; he had read Dead Souls and expressed the most outrageous views on Gogol! The intelligent old man, whose mind had been shaped by foreign influence, was not exempt from the failing of his time, which was worse than indifferent to the national aspect of things; I was raised with different ideas and felt that the initial favorable impression Mikhail Fyodorovich had made on me had been shaken. I blamed him for being behind the times, a natural consequence of his age and his 25 years of isolation. In general youth is less forgiving of age than age is of youth. I took it into my head to argue with the old man, to point out the contradictions his false convictions must have pushed him into; I asked him how he had felt when he took part in the campaign of 1812. Mikhail Fyodorovich considered this a while.

“I did my duty,” he said, “and of course I served in the army. But to be honest, my feelings were fanatical, and their master was Napoleon. I thought I wouldn’t be able to calmly face death without seeing him… but fate was not as generous with me as that: I fell ill and spent two months in the infirmary, raving deliriously about Napoleon and him alone. When I recovered, Napoleon was no longer in Russia.”

“And then you left the army?”

“Yes, and after that I settled here. I’d managed to see my fill of people in my youth, but you can never get tired of looking at nature. I like it here… And you too will recover while you’re here, God willing; you look a bit pale and thin…”

The old man took me affectionately by the hand.



previous installment
next installment
what is this?


Я принялась рассматривать великолепные издания XVIII века, из которых преимущественно состояла библиотека. В ней, кроме Пушкина, не было ни одной русской книги. Я позволила себе заметить это вслух. Старик махнул рукой и заговорил о нашей литературе с обидной холодностью. Пушкина он любил, но видел в нем не более, как подражателя Байрона; о современных писателях не имел понятия; прочел «Мертвые души» и высказывал дикие мнения о Гоголе! Умный старик, образовавшийся под иностранным влиянием, не миновал недостаток своего времени, более нежели равнодушного к национальным началам; я была воспитана в других понятиях и чувствовала, что сильно потрясено первое выгодное впечатление, произведенное на меня Михаилом Федоровичем. Я вменяла ему в вину его отсталость, естественное последствие его лет и 25-летнего уединения. Вообще, молодость взыскательней к старости, нежели старость к молодости. Мне вздумалось поспорить с стариком, указать ему на противоречия, в которые должны были вовлечь его ложные убеждения; я спросила его, с каким чувством делал он кампанию 12-го года? Михаил Федорович призадумался.

— Я исполнил свою обязанность, сказал он, и, разумеется, пошел в военную службу. Но, сказать правду, фанатическими моими чувствами овладел Наполеон. Мне казалось, что не умру спокойно, если я его не увижу… но судьба меня не побаловала: я занемог, вылежал два месяца в лазарете, и в жару только о Наполеоне и бредил. Когда я выздоровел, Наполеона уже не было в России…

— И тогда вы оставили службу?

— Да, и впоследствии поселился здесь; на людей успел насмотреться смолоду, а к природе никогда не приглядишься; мне и хорошо… Вот и вы, Бог даст, у нас поправитесь; вы что-то бледны и худы…

Старик ласково взял меня за руку.

One Comment leave one →
  1. July 23, 2016 5:17 pm

    7/23/16: changed “компанию 12-ого года” to “кампанию 12-ого года” (the source text has компанию, but it must be a typo).

Leave a Reply

