Skip to content

Mostly twentieth-century links

December 12, 2011
  • Jo Trew tells us what changes from Solzhenitsyn’s The First Circle to In the First Circle, with a bonus on how writers’ public pronouncements that appall us do or don’t ruin their writing for us. (On this score I’d love to hear what she thinks of Tatyana Tolstaya’s anti-feminist views, which Helena Goscilo discusses here, pp. 96-99.)
  • Though I haven’t seen John Hodge’s The Collaborators, it’s hard not to join Russian Dinosaur in standing up for Bulgakov. However, I doubt writing a play critical of whichever of the “real collaborators in 1930s Russia” most deserved it would lead to the most interesting piece of art imaginable.
  • I’ve only recently become aware of a podcast (RSS) of interviews with authors of scholarly books about Russia and Eurasia. Here’s one with Frank Wcislo about Tales of Imperial Russia: The Life and Times of Sergei Witte, 1849-1915.
2 Comments leave one →
  1. December 14, 2011 5:45 pm

    Thank you very much for referring to my blog in your recent posts – it is always a pleasant surprise to be mentioned in this way. I enjoy your posts very much, and, additionally, thank you for recommending other sites such as the 19th-century journals and Russian poetry RSS feed. I hope my next post, which should be about Revizor, will fall more firmly within your chronological parameters!

  2. December 29, 2011 9:47 am

    Many thanks for your comment. It’s no secret that I enjoy your blog very much as well, and I’m glad you’ve found some of the links useful. Sorry it took me so long to respond – I’ve just moved and have fallen behind in an unexpectedly long period without internet access. I look forward to reading your latest posts soon!

Leave a Reply

